How Lucky

by: Will Leitch Goodreads Description: Daniel leads a rich life in the university town of Athens, Georgia.  He’s got a couple close friends, a steady paycheck working for a regional airline, and of course, for a few glorious days each Fall, college football tailgates. He considers himself to be a mostly lucky guy—despite the fact […]

The Lost for Words Bookshop

by: Stephanie Butland Goodreads Description: The Lost for Words Bookshop is a compelling, irresistible, and heart-rending novel, perfect for fans of The Storied Life of AJ Fikryand The Little Paris Bookshop. Loveday Cardew prefers books to people. If you look carefully, you might glimpse the first lines of the novels she loves most tattooed on her skin. But […]

Sycamore

by: Bryn Chancellor Goodreads Description: Out for a hike one scorching afternoon in Sycamore, Arizona, a newcomer to town stumbles across what appear to be human remains embedded in the wall of a dry desert ravine. As news of the discovery makes its way around town, Sycamore’s longtime residents fear the bones may belong to Jess Winters, […]

When the Stars Go Dark

by: Paula McLain Goodreads Description: Anna Hart is a missing persons detective in San Francisco. When tragedy strikes her personal life, Anna, desperate and numb, flees to the Northern California village of Mendocino to grieve. She lived there as a child with her beloved foster parents, and now she believes it might be the only […]

June 2021 Tidbit

We are vaxed up and ready to travel! “Where are we going?” you ask. Here is a little about our first post-pandemic travel adventure. Helen says: Holly says: My husband and I are heading to Santa Fe and Taos next week with my sister and her husband, and we cannot wait! We have a big […]

May 2021 Tidbit

Summer is the time for porch eating and drinking. Helen always gains weight in the summer due to delicious mayonnaise laden foods and abundant heavy appetizers. Tis the season for eating and drinking…especially where we live at the beach. Here are our favorite easy summertime go-tos! Helen says: Holly says: Olive Cheese Balls – recipe […]

All the Ugly and Wonderful Things

by: Bryn Greenwood Goodreads Description: As the daughter of a meth dealer, Wavy knows not to trust people, not even her own parents. Struggling to raise her little brother, eight-year-old Wavy is the only responsible “adult” around. She finds peace in the starry Midwestern night sky above the fields behind her house. One night everything […]

Hour of the Witch: A Novel

by: Chris Bohjalian Boston, 1662. Mary Deerfield is twenty-four-years-old. Her skin is porcelain, her eyes delft blue, and in England she might have had many suitors. But here in the New World, amid this community of saints, Mary is the second wife of Thomas Deerfield, a man as cruel as he is powerful. When Thomas, […]

Of Women and Salt

by Garbriela Garcia Goodreads Description: A daughter’s fateful choice, a mother motivated by her own past, and a family legacy that begins in Cuba before either of them were born In present-day Miami, Jeanette is battling addiction. Daughter of Carmen, a Cuban immigrant, she is determined to learn more about her family history from her […]